Hawthorn has named an all-star squad of 18 players to prepare for its clash with North Melbourne in Ricky Ponting’s Biggest Game of Cricket to be played at University of Tasmania Stadium in Launceston on Friday 27 January 2017.

The squad, to be captained by Channel Ten Big Bash commentator and lifelong Hawks supporter Damien Fleming is headlined by four time premiership superstars Luke Hodge, Grant Birchall and Jarryd Roughead, club champion Shane Crawford, fanatical Hawk and international cricketer John Hastings and coaching great Alastair Clarkson.

“We’ve assembled a pretty red hot squad of players,” said Damien Fleming.

“There’s a great mix of bowling techniques, batting capability and fielding prowess in this squad and I think we are going to have no problems knocking over the Roos,” he added.

It’s interesting to note that the squad includes coaches Clarkson, Brett Ratten and Cameron Bruce who are reported to be above average cricketers.  Spies at Waverley also have wraps on Blake Hardwick and Dallas Willsmore who have made an impression in closed training sessions.

Joint vice captains Luke Hodge and Jarryd Roughead both participated in Ricky Ponting’s Tribute game played in Launceston in January 2014 and are looking forward to another great night under lights.

“That was a night that Roughy and I will never forget,” Luke Hodge said.

“The huge crowd and standard of cricket was pretty amazing and our boys are all keen to put on a similar show in January,” he added.

It is understood that this squad will now go into an intensive pre-season program under the watchful eye of the team’s leadership group:

“I want this team to ‘do something’ and be proud and passionate”, said Fleming quoting a few legendary Hawthorn lines

“We have an opportunity to be special and put Hawthorn on the world cricket stage,” he added.

The game is being organised by the Ponting Foundation with the support of the City of Launceston.  All proceeds from the match will stay in Tasmania and be distributed by the Ponting Foundation to its cancer and health related projects throughout the state.

“We are thrilled by ticket sales to date and the announcement of the Hawthorn squad, full of their superstars and best cricketers, is certain to spike the interest in the lead up to Christmas,” Ponting Foundation Honorary Chief Executive James Henderson said.

“We are now looking forward to the announcement of the Ricky Ponting captained North Melbourne squad next week.”

Tickets may be purchased from www.ticketmaster.com.au or direct from Ticketmaster outlets.

Details of travel, sponsorship and hospitality packages are available from www.pontingfoundation.com.au/rickys-biggest-game-cricket

Full Hawthorn Squad: 

  • Damien Fleming (Captain)
  • Luke Hodge (Vice Captain)
  • Jarryd Roughead (Vice Captain)
  • Grant Birchall
  • Luke Breust
  • Cameron Bruce
  • Alastair Clarkson
  • Shane Crawford
  • James Frawley
  • Josh Gibson
  • Jack Gunston
  • Blake Hardwick
  • Daniel Harford
  • John Hastings
  • Brett Ratten
  • Isaac Smith
  • Brendan Whitecross
  • Dallas Willsmore